Post 13 : Ladies in Power

From this chapter, we have learned that gender communication is the discussions between and about people of all genders. What stuck out to me the most while reading this chapter was the beginning where the author talked about how each gender is depicted, describing their stereotypical gender roles society has given them and the fact that these strict gender roles are still in the mindsets of many. One example that the chapter had given was women and sports, and how unusual it would be for women to play in the eyes of society because athletics are restricted to only men. This also relates top many other hobbies and careers in politics, police work, medicine, etc. However, I believe that society is slowly started to deviate from the normalized gender roles and women are actually finding themselves in power. I mean look at Kamala Harris, she is now the Vice President of the United States. While I believe that women still have ways to go before getting the respect and power we deserve, women are becoming bosses, surgeons, politicians, police officers, etc. I see it more and more every day.

When I think about the rise of “lady power”, I think about one of my favorite shows : Greys Anatomy. I have been watching this show for years and I really enjoy it, and it presents its audience with the idea that women can most definitely be in charge. Most of the women on the show are actually the heads of their department at the hospital they work atL Cardio, Neuro, Pediatrics, General, and Ortho all run by female surgeons. In fact, the chief of surgery is not a man, it is a black women named Miranda Bailey. Greys anatomy inspires me every day because it teaches me that us women can get ahead and actually become superiors to men. Women on this show practically run the hospital and it is amazing to watch. It also shows us women that we can be whatever we want, even if the world has told us that it’s only a mans job. Yes, women can be top notch neurosurgeons or run a hospital.

Grey's Anatomy - Here's to all the women on the frontlines. We see you, we  celebrate you, and we thank you 🙏 #IWD2021 #InternationalWomensDay |  Facebook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *